Minutes of the Fifteenth Annual General Meeting of Lode Tennis Club held on 22 September 2011 at 7.30 pm at Lode & District Social Club

Present: Jeff Kempster Arthur Tomlinson Ann Tomlinson

Sally Jaggard Will Jaggard John Lince

Denise Barden Lesley Pulvertaft Action by

1. Apologies were received from Maureen Brown and Carole Faulkner.

- 2. The minutes of the 14th AGM held on 22 September 2010 were accepted as a true record without amendment. There were no matters arising.
- 3. There were no matters arising from the Chairman's Report.
- 4. The Treasurers Report showing net income of £615.39 and a bank balance of £5,757.52 was received, discussed and approved, with thanks to the Treasurer for her work during the year. It was noted that the grant application to ECDC had been approved. Consequently, (subject only to providing ECDC with appropriate evidence of expenditure and a report that the objectives of the project had been met) there would be a payment of £450 from ECDC towards the costs of this year's coaching.
- 5. The membership fee rates were set at the same rates as the previous year. With the current levels of income it was considered that the target of £10,000 required to resurface the court in about 5 to 8 years time should still be achievable.
- 6. Arthur asked what was in the constitution concerning what qualified as a valid quorum for the committee of management to make decisions (because in the past there had been occasions when only two members had attended). Jeff reviewed the original constitution document and it was silent on the subject, although it said that the committee of management would comprise nine members.
- 7. It was proposed seconded and carried that the constitution be amended to say that the committee of management would comprise a maximum of 10 members and that a minimum of 4 members of the committee would be required to make up a quorum that could make decisions and conduct any business associated with the running of the club.
- 8. The entire Committee of Management then stood down in accordance with the constitution. All the committee members present offered themselves for re-election, and Lesley Pulvertaft and Carole Faulkner (in her absence) offered to join the committee. There being no objections it was declared that the Committee for the forthcoming year would comprise Jeff Kempster, Sally Jaggard, Arthur Tomlinson, Ann Tomlinson, Will Jaggard, John Lince, Denise Barden, Maureen Brown, Lesley Pulvertaft and Carole Faulkner. Jeff Kempster and Sally Jaggard were asked if they would be prepared to continue to act in their current roles as chairman and treasurer respectively. They were subsequently re-elected to those posts.
- 9. It had been noticed that some members had been booking the court using names of members whose membership had lapsed (presumably for booking more than the permitted one hour at a time). It was also noted that some newer members were not aware of all of the rules for booking the court. The chairman was asked to send an email to all members (and to include a note in the renewal notices to members next spring) re-iterating the court booking rules. He was also asked to include a note asking all members to complete a membership renewal form when they pay their subs, so that their details could be updated easily on the website. Sally was asked to keep track of who had booked the court for periods alongside those booked in the name of ex-members.

10. There being no other business, the next meeting of the Committee of Management was scheduled for immediately after the AGM and the AGM was closed at 8.20pm with thanks to the members for their attendance.

JK

SJ